Explore The Church
THE LE BROCQ WINDOW
John Le Brocq moved to the parish in the 1870s and farmed 12 acres of land close to the Rectory. He married Mary Ann Cabot, his neighbour’s daughter, and they had four children. By 1905, his wife and two of them were dead.
The window he donated in their memory is set up above the door at the west end of the nave and is designed by the firm of A. L. Moore & Sons, St Augustine House, 89 Southampton Row, London WC1 (whose best work may be seen in Ely Cathedral). The figure is King Solomon and he holds in his right hand the plans for his temple. We are not sure why John Le Brocq chose this theme. Did he have connections with Freemasonry, or are we being asked to contrast Solomon’s temple of stone with Jesus’ temple, which is built in human hearts?